Stronger.


Children's Valentine, 1940–1950
Children’s Valentine, 1940–1950 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Today I have to probably do the hardest thing I could imagine.  I am sending my son to visit his father.  How is that a hard thing?  Well as of Valentine’s day I became officially divorced.  I have had to go to court twice this year to prove that I am a capable mother to our son.  I went out and found a job after being unemployed for almost 3 years.  I happily took on the title of Working Single Mom.  See I had taken care of our son since before he was even born.  I went to his doctor’s appointments by myself, took him to his WIC appointments by myself, and found him a dentist who has told me he has very healthy teeth.  I am the woman who changed countless cloth diapers the first 2 years of his life.  I did laundry for his father, myself, and our sweet son.  I did whatever it took to make sure he went to a daycare that gave him that extra TLC when it comes to his learning.  At the age of 3 my son is running, playing, and talking.  I love when he looks up to me and say I love you.  That was my 4th of July gift this year.  His teacher’s would have been so proud of him if they had heard it themselves.  To some people I might sound like a bitter, angry, woman who is trying to move on with her life. Well it is true.  The problem is I am a nice girl next door that feel for the wrong guy.  It took me a long time to figure out my parents were right…this guy was not the right one for me.  After today I am going to begin working out a lot of emotions and writing them out.  My goal is to someday inspire people who have been in bad relationships.  There is life afterwards and I am going to find out what that life is.

 

2 comments

  1. Best of luck to you, Sara. Change, especially this type of change, can be very difficult. I look forward to reading about your journey and hope you find the lessons in all you have been through in relationships. That’s what I do on Loving with Purpose in hopes of helping other women with the same lessons you are mentioning…to love well. http://www.lovingwithpurpose.org

    Like

Leave a Reply

