Could Have Been Me.


It could have been me that woman wither teeth knocked out by her spouse.
It could have been me in a ditch in the middle of no where pushed out of the car because I argued with my spouse.
It could have been me left behind at a store with no way of getting home because I was new to the town.
It could have been me cut to pieces buried in God knows where because I decided to stand up to him.
It could have been me that the news talked about the person whose child was taken to a place where she could find him.
I could have been the statical African American woman who survived verbal and emotional abuse.
It could have been my family and friends standing vigil wondering would I ever come home.

Leave a Reply

