Day 5 of NaBloPoMo: Claire Huxtable vs. June Cleaver


The Cosby Show (1984-92)
The Cosby Show (1984-92) (Photo credit: quicheisinsane)

Imagine this if you will a reality television show based on TV moms of the past few years.  There will be Rosanne Conner, June Cleaver, Claire Huxtable, and lets throw in Marge Simpson to name a few.  Desperate Housewives of TV Land could be the title.

There are 2 titles that I love to go by Domestic Diva and Domestic Goddess.  The goddess side of me is the traditional wife who “loves” to clean the house and make things perfect for when the husband came home.  Than of course the diva side of me.  The side that says “Hey I have done so much to make your life easier….what about me?”  My son’s father would once in a while refer to me as Claire Huxtable.  That was on a day  when I decided to put on a scarf to hide my frizzy curly hair.  Now that I have had time to think about things… I should have taken that as a compliment.  He also let me know that it was my job to keep the house while he went to work.  I could imagine some of these housewives doing a double take and say “What are you taking about?”  I used to watch Desperate Housewives for fun.  I would say yep that’s me.  I loved Felicity Huffman‘s character.  She basically told her husband that if he wanted to try being the “wife” for a day to go for it.  Folks you saw how that turned out.  I consider the day I left my husband my personal 4th of July Independence Day.  I was an under-appreciated wife who just finally said enough already.  Trust me the only thing I did wrong was I stayed with him for so long.  Paint me the villain or the hero.  It just depends on which point of view you look at it.  Lets just say I am healing from 3 year marriage that was very hard.

So who do you think would make a good character in this TV series?  Mrs. Brady, Peg Bundy, or could you see anyone else I may have looked over.  Yes moms/wives you are the unspoken heroes who do their best for their family.  I salute you!

Leave a Reply

