11/27/13 Vacation


Vacation

By Sara Gamachu

Wednesday, November 27, 2013

What comes to mind when you hear the word vacation? Do you see a beachside resort with you sitting in a chair with a tropical drink by your side? How about walking down the street and peeking into different stores in the neighborhood? I used to dream about all of that and maybe some. I have not really taken a vacation in a while. Last time I remember taking one was when I used to work at MAV I asked my boss if I could take some time off to go visit my cousins. I am not sure who was more excited them or me. I know it would have been my first time traveling outside North America on an airplane. I can remember how much my mother and I had fun vising her side of the family.

Now 2013 and I am once again taking a little vacation. Only this one was overdue by about 3-4 years. In this time of healing and recovery, I decided to change my environment by just a smidge. It was one of the reasons I did not write for the last few weeks. I need to leave a situation of dark and damp setting into a warm and bright atmosphere. What people have not realized that for the past year I was fighting for my own existence? Yes, I am a woman in recovery from a life that I should not have taken on.

 

Leave a Reply

