My Friends- The First Nine


My Friends- The First Nine

Imagine entering a new school not knowing anyone and a few years later leaving with some of the greatest friends a person could have. Well that is how my adolescent era began. It had been about three years since I left my elementary environment. I spent 3 years in totally different environment that caused my parents to decide that I needed a whole new start my later junior high years. When I began 7th grade I was very scared. I had just finished a year where kids were teasing me because of my name and I was subjected to the bullying for my very slender appearance. I came to the local private school nervous and friendless.

I remember the first year I entered WSCS was breeze of fresh air. Mind you, it took a few months of getting used to a new environment to get that feeling. We were the first junior high class in the school history. So it made it easier to get used to that new sensation. I remember after learning about how a Christian woman in Europe made it through the horrors of World War 2 and lived to tell the story of how her family saved Jews from the Germans soldiers. It was the beginning of my love of writing. Our class went to Victoria B.C. for a field trip. We had so much fun going on the Victoria Clipper to a for a trip without our parents. I think the most memorable part was going to a wax museum and seeing various scenes of history right in front of us.

With this as a back-story, I will give you an idea about how nine of us became the first 8th grade graduating class in the school history. We were six girls and three boys who made an impression on my life. Let me start with some early memories that put a smile on my face. Singing in the school choir was awesome. A few of us even went to a district wide completion. We were a class that enjoyed playing the classical four square and kickball. We stood up for each other when times were hard. We

weathered the Bill Clinton inaugural day storm that hit our neighborhood. I think my best memories had to do with music. We danced, listened, and sang to genres all over the radio including country, pop/rock, and alternative. We were Generation X with spunk. Towards the end of the year, we decided on our class theme song to be “Friends” by Michael W. Smith. If I remember correctly, it was strongly suggested by our then teacher. I think we were Generation X’s answer to the Breakfast Club.

I think my favorite memory about our group of students (combination of our 7th and 8th grade years) was that we stood up for one another. It was not until a couple years ago it did not hit me when two of my former classmates separately wrote me a note to see how I was. Now I was fresh out of my divorce and really was not sure what was going on in my life. I remember when I saw those two notes I almost cried. See I have never told anyone this, but I remember those few years I felt each and every one of those fellow classmates were the only ones that actually got to see the real me. I did not have to put on a socially acceptable mask just to be liked. I even dreamt that if I had a problem or was in trouble I knew one of the nine would be there to stand up for me no matter what. Yes, that came from a mind of a young woman who just wanted to me liked. So I would like to give a shout out to class of ’92-’93 kids. We rocked out and learned a lot together. Thank you for being there for this young tween when she needed it.

Author: Sara Gamachu

I am a young woman who enjoys using her creative writing skills. SEE: http://mahaleta98.wordpress.com/2013/11/02/httprefresh28-wordpress-com/

Leave a Reply

