An Ethiopian Thanksgiving. A Personal Story


So I was the event planner for this year Thanksgiving dinner. We have yummy mashed potatoes, cubed sweet potatoes, fruit salad made from the freshest fruits in Addis, and beef strips cooked on the fire. It is what you call a little bit of tradition with some substitutions that make your memory water. Oh and of course corn. Did you know that corn is one of Ethiopia’s favorite vegetables? It is in the Oromia region. When I was helping peel the potatoes with a knife I may have looked funny when I was looking for a peeler. Well the carrot peeler did work until my potatoes ended up in a nub. Good thing they were going to be mashed! I am just looking forward to the finished dinner.

Leave a Reply

