Posted in Creative Writing, Entertainment, Family, Friends, Random Thoughts

Things I miss. 11.14.14


Things I Miss.

Things I miss From the Northwest

Written from the Point of View of the Five Senses

By Sara Gamachew

November 14, 2014

Some things that I really miss from the States are the aromatic scent of candles.

They can really make life worth waking up to.

I also miss the various scents coming from Febreeze and Glade air sprays.

These simple things can make any room smell like a lavender garden, a midsummer breeze, a fall holiday dinner, or a peppermint candy scent for the winter.

I miss the taste of sweet potatoes mashed and mixed with a dash of cinnamon and butter. That is one of my favorite memories of Thanksgiving dinners as a child.

I miss the mouthwatering taste of nachos with a zesty avocado and sour cream dip. When I was pregnant, I watched my diet and splurged on Ranch dressing. Than a few months later I was back to Blue Cheese, Thousand Island, and Honey Mustard dips with just about anything I could find. When I wanted something sweet there was a variety of junk food, I would crave Gourmet Jelly Beans, Cotton Candy, Candy Corn, and of course ice cream/frozen yogurt with a variety of toppings. Yum that just makes my mouth water thinking about it. To wash down all that yummy food I would be drinking Dr. Pepper, Mr. Pibb, or Wild Cherry Pepsi. I would go the healthy route with Fruit Punch, Raspberry Lemonade, Strawberry Lemonade, or anything sweet that I could find. If I wanted to go the warmer route with drinks, I am a tea person: Chamomile, Chai, and Fruit Flavored tea to name a few. Than during the holidays I go for Peppermint Mochas, Chai Tea Lattes, and of course my favorite the Carmel Apple Cider. Good ole Apple Cider does the trick when I need to be thawed out from the winter weather.

I love the feel of sand between my feet when I walk down the neighborhood beach. It reminds me of my childhood running up and down that same beach as a kid in elementary school. As I got older, I loved walking down the streets of downtown. I would smell the sea air from the Puget Sound, listen to the merchants surrounding me in the market place, and just marvel at all the buildings sprouting up in various parts of town. I valued the chance to walk up and down the mall venues that would call to me in various parts of town. On one end, you can see Nike-town displaying the latest athletic shoes and then on the other end you can see Nordstrom and Macy are displaying countless fashionable clothes and accessories.

I miss these just a few things from the Northwest. You can find any of these things in any part of the United States. I just picked the one area that I can remember from the places that I grew up.

Author:

I am a young woman who enjoys using her creative writing. SEE: http://mahaleta98.wordpress.com/2013/11/02/httprefresh28-wordpress-com/

Leave a Reply

