Book Review for April 2015.


Books I read in April 2015.

Well as I posted recently I have been on a reading spree this past month. The books took me to several places like Self Help land, near the heavenly gates, a guide through my 20s, and zest of ADD that went along with Self Help land.

Ø Journey through ADDulthood by Sari Solden taught me that there is more than one way to deal with my forgetful and energetic condition. I loved how she explained so much of the ADD diagnosis in adults in detail. Towards the end, I was able to get some ideas in helping me with my healing process. The goal that I have for myself is to get back on my feet and transplanted back in the normal world.

Ø The Go Girl Guide by Julia Bourland gave me a chance to look back on what I should have known in my 20s. It practically explained every stage that I was and still am feeling. Weather it was body image (Am I gaining too much weight), How to get a job (What all can I do career wise), and everything in between (dating, family, and just enjoying life as it happened). Lately I have felt like something was missing in my life. What is the reason that I was put on this planet? Is it normal to feel like you have made some goals and yet some are still out of my reach. Will I ever get back to being myself again? Who am I in the first place? This book gave me some answers and how I have gotten so far. I should be proud of the woman I have grown to be. I need to be in touch with my creative side and for once let it loose on the world. Like Wynonna Judd sang, “What the world needs now is love”. There is just so much hate in this world. Hate of self, hate of one’s background, and hate of where one is headed. I need to move on to the next chapter instead of crying over what I had done wrong. There are people out there that need someone to say, “Hey I can make something of this mess.” On the other hand, as one of my mentors has reminded me “God didn’t make mess or clean dirty laundry.”

Ø Breakfast at Sally’s by Richard LeMieux gave me a look at one person’s point of view from the homeless eyes. This

true story is based in Bremerton, WA (a town that I lived in for about a year or so). Richard shows us a world from the view of various homeless people eyes. I especially liked “C” who read classical books and gave inspiration to so many people. He was the big brother that anyone needed. I am so glad that Richard wrote this book. Although my days in B-town are a little hazy. I remember how I felt independent for the first time. As I read about how Richard coped with Depression and life changes it gave me something to look forward to once I have gotten over my funk (as I like to call this stage of my life).

Ø Third Culture Kids by David C. Pollock and Ruth E. Reken is book that explains the lives and stages of children that have lived in different cultures other than their home culture. This book is very deep and gives home to children who have grown up in different or multiple cultures. Whether you are a military child, missionary kid/pastor’s kid, or parents were in the business world or traveled to various countries for reason (ambassadors, various medical fields, etc.). I for one related to both the TCK’s and CCK (Cross Cultural Kids). When you are not, sure, where you fit in weather it is in America after traveling from various locations and vice versa. You do not need to feel bad if you do not fit in with your home culture. You have a lot to share with others because you grew up in a third world country and spent your teens in America or Europe for example. It also gives you the reader tips on how to transition your life from one culture into another one. That is one thing that I really enjoyed.

Ø Heaven Is For Real by Todd Burpo and Lynn Vincent is the story of a young boy that had a near death experience. I have been fascinated with heaven would be like once I had crossed over. Would I feel any pain? Would I be welcomed with open arms? I knew that Jesus loved me, but would I be accepted even with some of my issues. This book answered many of my questions all from the point of view of a young boy. He went into a hospital for a surgery not once but twice. During

that time, he went to heaven and experienced some awesome things. He got to meet Jesus who sat His lap and loved him. Todd’s son experienced only things that a person dreamed of. The best part was Burpo’s son reminding him that Jesus loves all of us especially the children. I have read stories from different point of views, but from a young child (who should be 16 years old now) how he described things like his parents crying and praying at the hospital when they thy thought their son was dying. That is truly incredible. I know that book gave my faith a boost. Might I add this young boy was a PK (Preacher’s Kid) that his parents thought the Sunday School teacher did an amazing job teaching him these things. No offense, but what he described would not have come from Sunday School (Angels with wings and swords, his dad’s relative that had passed away before he was even born, and you are young all the time no glasses included). Now doesn’t that sound wonderful?

Author: Sara Gamachu

I am a young woman who enjoys using her creative writing skills. SEE: http://mahaleta98.wordpress.com/2013/11/02/httprefresh28-wordpress-com/

Leave a Reply

