June Update.


June update.

Hello fellow bloggers and readers:
Well we are in the second week of June. I can hardly believe that we are half way through 2015. It is incredible! I have been taking a few days off from Missing Link to take some time and enjoy the country that I have been visiting. Can I say that Ethiopia has a rich and amazing culture? When I was updating my Twitter profile, I decided to change from somewhere in East Africa to traveling in East Africa. Although I have not seen other parts of the Horn of Africa, I have had a chance to take in the culture in my native country. Yep that is right I am an Ethiopian American and proud of it. Although my American side has come out more often than needed. I tend to say I have not changed that much, just been enjoying the sites.

One thing I am really looking forward seeing is the museums. I have seen the statues of former political leaders such as Haile Selassie that are displayed in the capital Addis Ababa. Addis is just like a mini United Nations with so many embassies represented (Canada, British, Sierra Leon, just to name a few) and also the African equivalent of the European Union.

I thought the hardest part if being here was the language barrier. That is only part of it. I realized that if you don’t have a guide or someone who knows the area you could be overcharged for just about anything. Even as a foreigner you can be seen as someone who is wealthy.

To be continued…
MS

June Update.

One thought on “June Update.

Leave a Reply

