Reading


Getting a book, blog post, message, or even email has helpped me with starting over. June was going to be my reading month. I downloaded to iBooks The Scarlet Letter, Pride and Prejudice, War and Peace, and Little Women. I knew the weather would be cold and wet which brought on winter blues. After reading Dr. Amen’s book about magnificent minds I decided to do something different. Instead of being bored and bummed I was going to make lemonade out of lemons.

I remember writing book reports and presenting it to my class. The art of reading a book and sharing it with others gave me great joy. I might start doing that on here. We shall see.

I got excited when I got a new email or message because I felt so hungry for contact with my friends. I wanted to bond over what was happening in the world. I love my family, but my support system was the thing that helped me remember who I was. They stood up to me and for me. That has been the acceptance I have yearned for all my life.

As I read other bloggers post I feel one in the community. @Thought Catalog has been one of my favorites. I love sharing their posts because it had such an effect on me. @BeautyBeyondBones is another favorite of mine. Her worlds about life after ED gives me hope as I get over my emotional wounds. Each blog I follow gives me a place to escape to.

In closing reading has been my way of coping with my current stage in life. Because I am unable to communicate with people due to my language difficulty. I run away to the world of books for a calming feeling. These classics remind me that the world was never this dark and gray. Plus how the characters deal with everyday activities teach me that life has a rainbow ending even in our darkest days.

3 comments

  1. Hey there! I know this is somewhat off topic but I
    was wondering which blog platform are you using for this site?
    I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers
    and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be awesome if you
    could point me in the direction of a good platform.

    Like

Leave a Reply

