How does one refamiliarize themselves with a device and software?


2/6/17

My mom makes me feel like I can work gadgets and devices and they will just work. <Pop> Just like that! Problem is I am very old school like early 2000’s technology. I taught myself basic keyboarding on a toy laptop that my parents got my brother and I. It took a lot of practice, but I learned how to type slowly and surely. Pretty soon I was going a little faster and memorizing the keys per finger. As I did the quizzes I realized that I was advancing quicker than I fathomed.

Before I knew it, I had the lowercase completed, the uppercase completed, and even the numbers and symbols. All this on a toy laptop. It was breathtaking for a young child to be able to understand the keys and make words out of letters and soon complete sentences. It was fun and educational. Little did I know these basic games would soon advance into curiosity of the big leagues of technology. Now over 10 years later I have gone from learning how basic keyboarding to learning how to use software and search the world-wide web aka the internet. Zowie!

I had a talk with my mom this afternoon. I had an ADD moment when I felt extremely overwhelmed and anxious. She gave me a chance to vent about my feeling over my head with the new technology. I had a feeling that it would have changed in eight years (I had gotten my first laptop before my son’s father and I got engaged). So, fast forward to 2012 when I was just rediscovering that same laptop and my previous training. That was about the time that I began writing my blog My Journey Through Life(It was called A Mother’s Journey Through Life but I changed it after I took my hiatus with my family). Now here I am trying to train myself how to use this new Windows and Office Programs.

Sent from Mail for Windows 10

How does one refamiliarize themselves with a device and software?

Leave a Reply

