04/29/17


I was born in 1979 that is the edge of Disco and the verge of Retro. I grew up listening to all kinds of music thanks to my mom the music teacher. I was the rebel listening to Michael Jackson and the Motown artists. I realized that the pop industry made some mean music that made me dance and sing.

In junior high I was discovering the early hip hop and rhythm and blues singers. Dancing to Naughty by Nature’s OPP became an early like. I learned that Meredith Brooks made a girl power anthem that I learned that it went in my mind from taboo to my anthem after my divorce. Then of course there was the bubble gum pop music of boy bands and girls with a beat. Yes, I was dancing along with New Kids on The Block, Insync, Backstreet Boys, Britney Spears, and Christiana Aguilera.

One would not expect me to be a country fan. I might not be able to square dance or line dance with the pros, but I was giving my own moves that proved I could do it just as good. I was hooked on Dolly Parton, Faith Hill, Toby Keith, and several others that made me get to my feet.

I soon discovered that I knew more about music than most people would think. I could tell a 50’s hit from an alternative success. I recently realized I had a Little Monster in me thanks to Lady Gaga. I was one of many that music had a profound effect on our lives. Even as I write I am going through a Katy Perry phase and totally loving it. You don’t have to be just like everybody else. Be yourself and love life!

Sent from Mail for Windows 10

Leave a Reply

